Join Us

Sign Up


December 06, 2013

Debra Davis
(334) 451-2879

New officers and directors were elected today at the Federation's 92nd annual meeting in Montgomery. Seated, from left, are: District 2 Director Paul Looney of Limestone County; State Women's Leadership Committee Chairman Sharon Byrd of Dale County; State Young Farmers Chairman Allie Corcoran of Barbour County; and District 11 Director Sammy Gibbs of Escambia County. Standing, from left: Secretary-Treasurer Steve Dunn of Conecuh County; Central Area Vice President Dean Wysner of Randolph County; Southwest Area Vice President Jake Harper of Wilcox County; District 5 Director Joe Roberts of Fayette County; and District 8 Director Dan Robertson of Perry County.

MONTGOMERY, Ala., — Steve Dunn of Conecuh County, Jake Harper of Wilcox County and Dean Wysner of Randolph County were re-elected as officers of the Alabama Farmers Federation Friday at the organization's 92nd annual meeting.

Federation President Jimmy Parnell of Chilton County, who was elected last year, presided over the voting process in which almost 500 delegates chose new officers and board members. Officers serve two-year terms.

Dunn, a row crop and cattle farmer, was re-elected secretary-treasurer, a statewide position.

Harper, a cattle and timber farmer, is vice president of the Southwest Area, which includes Baldwin, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Escambia, Hale, Lowndes, Marengo, Mobile, Monroe, Montgomery, Perry, Sumter, Washington and Wilcox counties.

Wysner, a cattle and hay producer, is vice president of the Central Area, which includes Autauga, Bibb, Calhoun, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Fayette, Greene, Jefferson, Lamar, Pickens, Randolph, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Tuscaloosa and Walker counties.

Elections for four district directors also were held. Directors serve three-year terms.

Paul Looney, a cotton and grain farmer from Limestone County, was elected to represent District 2, which covers Limestone, Madison and Morgan counties. He succeeds Ted Grantland of Morgan County.

Joe Roberts of Fayette County, a poultry farmer, was elected to represent District 5, which includes Bibb, Fayette, Jefferson, Lamar and Tuscaloosa counties. He succeeds John Walker III of Tuscaloosa County.

Dan Robertson of Perry County was elected District 8 director. He is a catfish and cattle farmer representing Choctaw, Dallas, Greene, Hale, Marengo, Perry, Pickens and Sumter counties. He succeeds Dickie Odom of Greene County.

Sammy Gibbs, a row crop farmer from Escambia County, was elected District 11 director. He represents Baldwin, Clarke, Conecuh, Escambia, Monroe, Mobile and Washington counties and succeeds David Bitto of Baldwin County.

Elected to one-year, ex-officio terms on the Federation State Board were Women's Leadership Committee Chairman Sharon Byrd of Dale County and State Young Farmers Chairman Allie Corcoran of Barbour County.

View More News Headlines