News Alabama Legislature Names Ag Committee Members

Alabama Legislature Names Ag Committee Members

Alabama Legislature Names Ag Committee Members
January 18, 2019 |

By Marlee Moore

Legislative leaders have been named to oversee the Senate and House of Representatives agriculture committees during the Alabama Legislature’s 2019-22 quadrennium.

Sen. Tom Whatley, R-Auburn, will chair the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, while Rep. Danny Crawford, R-Athens, leads the House of Representatives Agriculture and Forestry Committee.

The Alabama Farmers Federation’s David Cole said Whatley and Crawford understand agriculture’s importance to the state.

“Tom serves on the Lee County Farmers Federation board of directors, and Danny is a former USDA Farm Service Agency state director,” said Cole, the Federation’s state legislative programs director. “They’re dedicated to serving their constituents and improving the quality of life for rural Alabamians. We look forward to working with them on policy discussions that affect agriculture, forestry, rural Alabama and our members for generations.”

Sen. David Sessions, R-Grand Bay, will help lead his chamber’s committee as vice chair. Other Senate Agriculture Committee members are Sens. Billy Beasley, D-Clayton; Chris Elliott, R-Fairhope; Garlan Gudger, R-Cullman; Andrew Jones, R-Centre; Steve Livingston, R-Scottsboro; Tim Melson, R-Florence; Randy Price, R-Opelika; Clay Scofield, R-Red Hill; Bobby Singleton, D-Greensboro; Larry Stutts, R-Sheffield; and Jack Williams, R-Wilmer.

Rep. Steve Hurst, R-Munford, is House Agriculture Committee vice chair, while Rep. Thomas Jackson, D-Thomasville, is the ranking minority member. Other committee members include Reps. Will Dismukes, R-Prattville; Joe Faust, R-Fairhope; Bob Fincher, R-Woodland; Dexter Grimsley, D-Newville; Tommy Hanes, R-Bryant; Ralph Howard, D-Greensboro; Reed Ingram, R-Montgomery; A.J. McCampbell, D-Demopolis; Ed Oliver, R-Dadeville; Ginny Shaver, R-Leesburg; Jeff Sorrells, R-Hartford; and Rodney Sullivan, R-Northport.

For complete lists of committee assignments, visit

View Related Articles