News Alfa Farmers Honors, Elects Leaders

Alfa Farmers Honors, Elects Leaders

Alfa Farmers Honors, Elects Leaders
December 18, 2018 |

The Alabama Farmers Federation welcomed over 1,200 farmers and guests to its 97th annual meeting in Montgomery Dec. 2-3, when Jimmy Parnell of Chilton County was re-elected to a fourth two-year term as president.

Other elections included North Area Vice President Rex Vaughn of Madison County; Southeast Area Vice President George Jeffcoat of Houston County; and directors Brian Glenn of Lauderdale County, District 1; Tim Whitley of Blount County, District 4; Joe Lambrecht of Elmore County, District 7; and Steve Stroud of Pike County, District 10. 

Elected to one-year, ex-officio terms were State Women’s Leadership Committee Chair Jo Ann B. Laney of Russell County and State Young Farmers Committee Chair Garrett Dixon of Lee County.

During the business session, a $5 dues increase effective July 2019 passed. Delegates also voted to amend the bylaws to include affiliated associations, such as Alabama Fruit and Vegetable Growers Association (AFVGA) and Alabama TREASURE Forest Association, in the policy development process.

AFVGA will replace the Horticulture Division as the entity providing leadership for fruit, nut and vegetable production issues. The State Horticulture Committee will have a final meeting Feb. 6 at the Commodity Organization Conference.

Former U.S. Speaker of the House Newt Gingrich and Alabama Gov. Kay Ivey addressed members. Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries John McMillan received the Federation’s highest honor, the Service To Agriculture Award.

Other events included Young Farmers and Women’s Leadership committees elections; award presentations; and a silent auction for the Alabama Farmers Agriculture Foundation.

View Related Articles