News Alfa Foundation Awards $100,000 In College Scholarships

Alfa Foundation Awards $100,000 In College Scholarships

Alfa Foundation Awards $100,000 In College Scholarships
September 1, 2022 |

By Mary Wilson

Alabama students who will be the state’s next engineers, nurses and teachers — among other business professionals — earned $1,000 college scholarships from the Alfa Foundation.

The 100 recipients hail from 52 counties and will attend 21 institutions.

“It’s important for young people to get a good education,” said Alfa Insurance President Jimmy Parnell. “These students represent the future of our state, and I’m glad we can support them through these scholarships.”

Scholarships are awarded based on academics, participation in school and community activities, honors, work experience and goals. The program is administered through Scholarship America and recipients must be Alabama Farmers Federation members.

Throughout its history, the Alfa Foundation Scholarship Program has awarded $850,000 to students studying at Alabama technical schools, colleges and universities. The award may be used toward tuition, fees, books or supplies.

View recipient photos by visiting 

This year’s recipients and their schools, listed by county, are:

Autauga County

Jackson Manning, freshman

Baldwin County

Madalyn Maurin, freshman, Montevallo

Barbour County

Leland Anderson, freshman, Auburn

Bibb County

John Watkins, sophomore, Alabama

Bullock County

Richard Cochran, freshman, Auburn

George Cochran, sophomore, Auburn

Butler County

Samuel Lowery, freshman, Mobile

Calhoun County

Jacob Lee, senior, Auburn

Cherokee County

Bryan East, freshman, Gadsden State CC

Claire Williams, freshman, Gadsden State CC

Chilton County

Emma Locke, freshman, Auburn

Choctaw County

Kathryn Wigley, junior, Alabama

Clarke County

Quentin Brown, senior, USA

Coffee County

Lougener Wyrosdick, freshman, Huntingdon

Conecuh County

Avie Etheridge, senior, Troy

Covington County

Madeline Pugh, senior, UNA

Crenshaw County

Adam Carlisle, junior, Auburn

Cullman County

Lillimae Allen, senior, Mobile

Andrew Conway, freshman, Auburn

Townley Cornelius, junior, Alabama

Abigail Kusz, freshman, UNA

Ben Tankersley, freshman, Auburn

Dallas County

Elizabeth Adams, senior, Alabama

Andrew Morris, freshman, Auburn

Sarah Thomas, freshman, Auburn

DeKalb County

Hannah Buffington, sophomore, JSU

David Fischer, freshman, Northeast Alabama CC

Elmore County

Richard Burleson, freshman, Auburn

Jackson Hand, junior, Auburn

Judson Hardin, junior, Auburn

Abigail Luster, sophomore, Auburn

Escambia County

Winfred Brittain, sophomore, UAB

Etowah County

Anna Giles, junior, Birmingham-Southern

Fayette County

Maggie Hammack, freshman, UAH

Franklin County

Hailey Cantrell, freshman, Northwest-Shoals CC

Destiny Deaton, senior, UNA

Hale County

Conrad Taylor, freshman, Marion Military Institute

Houston County

Bailey Anderson, senior, UAB

Gillian Bailey, sophomore, Troy

Vivian Crump, freshman, Samford

Laura Meadows, freshman, Alabama

Addison Reynolds, junior, Troy

Hannah Seales, sophomore, Auburn

Jackson County

Lauren Paradise, freshman, Alabama

Jefferson County

Stella Bell, freshman, USA

Erin Denenberg, junior, Auburn

Landon Erbrick, junior, Auburn

Sydney Gann, freshman, UNA

Jackson Harris, junior, Auburn

Lacey Walker, junior, Alabama

Lamar County

Annalisa Robertson, junior, Samford

Lauderdale County

Bethany Belue, senior, UNA

Jenna Mosley, junior, UNA

Kristen Walker, freshman, Southern Union State CC

Lawrence County

Katie Jett, freshman, Auburn

Lee County

Emily Coshatt, sophomore, Auburn

Riley Curtis, freshman, Auburn

Kaycie Mashburn, senior, Troy

Seth Roarke, freshman, Samford

Seth Walker, sophomore, Auburn

Limestone County

Olivia Norwood, freshman, Auburn

Lowndes County

Margaret Holladay, freshman, Auburn

Macon County

Colby Cox, sophomore, Huntingdon

Madison County

Parker Johns, freshman, Auburn

Winton Williams, freshman, Auburn

Sarah Bates, freshman, Alabama

Marengo County

Mary Sheffield, junior, UWA

Marion County

Anna Ary, freshman, UNA

Marshall County

Jon Royster, junior, Auburn

Lucas Sanders, freshman, Auburn

Mobile County

Sarah Campitelli, sophomore, Auburn

Marc Marquis, sophomore, Mobile

Hannah Miller, freshman, UAB

Leah Robinson, freshman, Alabama

Nicholas Schock, senior, USA

Ryan Waite, freshman, UAH

Monroe County

Carly Black, freshman, Auburn

Madeline Hobbs, junior, Troy

Ava Hobbs, freshman, Auburn

Montgomery County

Elizabeth Parker, freshman, Auburn

Katherine Warren, freshman, Alabama

Morgan County

Gavin Lee, freshman, Auburn

Randolph County

Emery Norred, junior, Auburn

Samantha Yarbrough, junior, Auburn

Russell County

Georgia-Lee Smith, sophomore, Auburn

Shelby County

Ross Tolbert, sophomore, Auburn

Brooks Tolbert, senior, UAH

St. Clair County

Harper Bell, junior, UAB

Madison Comans, sophomore, Samford

Sarah Conaway, freshman, Auburn

Blakeley Goodgame, freshman, Auburn

Tallapoosa County

Madison Barnett, freshman, Alabama

Tuscaloosa County

Madelyn Clary, sophomore, Shelton State CC

Callie Corley, senior, Alabama

Rylan Corley, freshman, Alabama

Bradleigh Taylor, freshman, Alabama

Joshua Wiggins, senior, Alabama

Walker County

Sophia Poolos, freshman, USA

Luke Sparkman, freshman, USA

Winston County

Emma Nethery, freshman, Bevill State CC

View Related Articles