Home » Commodities » Soybean Division

Soybean Division

Soybean Division

Soybean Division is composed of farmers throughout the state who produce soybeans as part or all of their livelihoods. Soybeans have been grown for thousands of years as food for millions of people around the earth and as a feed ingredient for the livestock industry. But there is more to this familiar legume than just the simple bean we have come to take for granted.

The complex structure of the soybean plant also provides us with the basic building blocks to make hundreds of different products for use in industry and in the home.

Research efforts funded by soybean farmers are leading to more soybean products being created every year. Soybeans are used to make lotions, candles, cleaners, crayons, diesel additives, fabric conditioner, hair and body care products, paint removers, pens, polish, shampoos and waxes, just to name a few.

The Soybean Division represents farmers on a national, state and local level and has county committees in 28 counties in Alabama.

Alabama soybean producers produced 300,000 acres of soybeans in 2011. The average production was approximately 33 bushels per acre. Total soybean production in Alabama for 2011 was 9.74 million bushels. The top 5 soybean producing counties in Alabama are Jackson, Madison, Baldwin, Limestone and DeKalb counties.

Alabama Farmers Federation State Soybean Committee

Carla Hornady
Soybeans Division Director
(334) 613-4216

Colt Clemmons
Lauderdale County

John DeLoach 
Vice Chair
Shelby County

Charles Butler
Madison County

Annie Dee
Pickens County

David Ellis
Marshall County

Jessie Hobbs
Limestone County

Ben Johnson
DeKalb County

Eric Street
Baldwin County

Daniel Trantham
Calhoun County

John Tucker
Lawrence County

David Wilson
Talladega County

Wendy Yeager
Dallas County