News Farmers Elect New State Commodity Committee Leaders

Farmers Elect New State Commodity Committee Leaders

Farmers Elect New State Commodity Committee Leaders
February 29, 2016 |

Leadership elections for 16 Alabama Farmers Federation commodity groups were held during a three-day meeting in Montgomery, Feb. 2-4 at the Embassy Suites Hotel.

Nearly 900 farmers from around the state discussed challenges, set goals for their respective commodities and helped establish Federation policy.

Shelby County farmer Terry Wyatt, who grows cotton, wheat, soybeans, corn and grain sorghum on his farm near Harpersville, said he’s been attending the conferences for years. He said the meeting is important because it helps him learn about new tends and technology that’s available to farmers.

“We learn about new varieties plus other things that could help us this year or in the future,” Wyatt said. “The meetings have excellent speakers who give up-to-date information we might not get otherwise.”

Adam Wilson of Calhoun said this year was his second time attending the commodity organization conference. He raises cotton and cattle with his father, Wendell Wilson.

“I’m still new to all this but I see a lot of value in coming to this meeting,’ said Wilson, 24. “I want to be a good advocate for agriculture so it’s important for me to understand what’s going on in our industry so I can convey that information to people who aren’t involved in agriculture.”

Federation Governmental and Agricultural Programs Director Brian Hardin said the annual meeting charts the course of the state’s largest farm organization.

“State commodity committee members are all farmers who are elected by farmers,” Hardin said. “Who better to determine the goals and issues these commodity committees will address than farmers? It’s a true grassroots structure.”

Alabama peanut farmers met Feb. 11 in Dothan for the Alabama Peanut Producers Association annual meeting. For more information, visit

In addition to electing new commodity leaders, the meetings honored outgoing commodity committee members during lunch each day. They were Joe Lambrecht, Elmore County, Bee & Honey Committee; Paul Wheeler, Perry County, Catfish Committee; Jimmy Miller, Blount County, Cotton Committee; Toni Flowers, Montgomery County, Equine Committee; Jackie Loyd of Jackson County and Michael Jenkins of Jefferson County, Horticulture Committee; Albert Miller, Mobile County, Pork Committee; Mike Carnes, Marshall County, Poultry Committee; Pat Buck, Sumter County, Soybeans Committee; and Chip Stacey, Conecuh County, Wildlife Committee.

Newly elected committee members and their counties are:

Bee & Honey — Ray Latham, Jackson; Jimmy Carmack, Jefferson; Lionel Evans, Limestone ; Troy Smith, Randolph; and Terry Martin, Tallapoosa.

Beef — Phil Slay, Chambers; Jim Yance, Henry, David Lee, Lowndes; and Mike Carnes, Marshall.

Catfish — Mark Satterfield, Clay; Bubba Drury, Hale; Thed Spree, Greene; and Brad Brady, Perry.

Cotton — Lance Miller, Blount, Lance Whitehead, Fayette; Donald Hodge, Madison; and Andy Thornburg, Mobile.

Dairy — Will Gilmer, Lamar; George Rankin, Marengo; Mickey Childers, Morgan; and Richie Traylor, Randolph.

Equine — Amy Hegeman, Calhoun; Wendell Harmon, Chambers; Julianne Hataway, Montgomery; Jo Ann Laney, Russell; and Tina C. Hammonds, Lowndes.

Forestry — Ricky Jones, Covington; Charles Whatley, Lee; John Dorrill, Pike; and Wayne Ford, Tuscaloosa.

Greenhouse, Nursery & Sod — Jon Hegeman, Calhoun; Hank Richardson, Cherokee; Bill Cook, Montgomery; Phillip Hunter, Shelby.

Hay & Forage — Phyllis Jones, Cherokee; Joe Williams, Dale; Steve Stroud, Pike; and Neal Kelly, Tallapoosa.

Horticulture — Allie Corcoran, Barbour; Jimmy Witt, Blount; Joe Lambrecht, Elmore; Larry Lou Allen, Lawrence.

Meat Goat & Sheep — Sam Abney, Autauga; Barrett Stephenson, Barbour; Eugene Blair, Chambers; Clay Mims, Chilton. Jimmy Parker was elected as an ex-officio member.

Pork — Johnny Miller, Cherokee; Chris George, Elmore; Tim Gates, Pickens; and Daniel Tubbs, Walker.

Poultry — Tom Duncan, Butler; Donald Ray Wilks, Geneva; Chase Bradley, Monroe; Jeremy Brown, Montgomery.

Soybeans — Daniel Trantham, Calhoun; Mike Neal, Jackson; Colt Clemmons, Lauderdale; and Charles Butler, Madison.

Wheat & Feed Grains — Ben Haynes, Cullman; James Walker, Lauderdale; Dan Rhyne, Lowndes; Shep Morris, Macon; Stewart McGill, Madison; Scott Saucer, Monroe; and Mike Dee, Pickens.

Wildlife — Lamar Dewberry, Clay; Monty Gordon, Montgomery; Dell Hill, Talladega; and Mark Finley, Winston.

View Related Articles