News FarmPAC Candidates Victorious

FarmPAC Candidates Victorious

FarmPAC Candidates Victorious
November 7, 2018 |

Alabama Farmers Federation members celebrated Nov. 6 victories of FarmPAC-endorsed candidates who won 161 of 163 elections.

Federation President Jimmy Parnell said the results are an endorsement of conservative policies causing regulatory reform and record unemployment.

“Voters sent a strong message supporting economic growth, accountable government and family values,” Parnell said. “We look forward to working with the governor, Alabama Legislature and all elected officials to continue moving our state forward.”

Gov. Kay Ivey was elected to a full, four-year term. Republicans won all statewide constitutional offices, including Lt. Gov. Will Ainsworth, Attorney General Steve Marshall, Secretary of State John Merrill, State Auditor Jim Zeigler and Public Service Commissioners Jeremy Oden and Chip Beeker. State Treasurer John McMillan and Commissioner of Ag & Industries Rick Pate were unopposed on the November ballot.

FarmPAC-endorsed candidates also were victorious in contested judicial races, including Alabama Supreme Court Chief Justice Tom Parker and Supreme Court Justice, Place 4, Jay Mitchell.

All seven Alabama congressmen were re-elected, and 133 of 135 endorsed candidates won their races for Alabama Legislature.

The Federation recommended a “yes” vote on three of four statewide constitutional amendments. All three passed. Amendment 1 allows public display of the Ten Commandments; Amendment 2 affirms the rights of unborn children; and Amendment 4 reduces expenses associated with late-term special elections for legislative seats.

View Related Articles