News Federation Leaders Elected During Centennial Celebration

Federation Leaders Elected During Centennial Celebration

Federation Leaders Elected During Centennial Celebration
December 27, 2021 |

By Debra Davis

The Alabama Farmers Federation held leadership elections during its annual meeting Dec. 6 in Montgomery. The gathering was highlighted by the state’s largest farm organization celebrating its centennial year.

Steve Dunn, a Conecuh County row crop and cattle farmer, was reelected secretary-treasurer.

Calhoun County’s Jon Hegeman was reelected Central Area vice president, and Jake Harper of Wilcox County was reelected Southwest Area vice president.

Elections were held during the Federation’s business session, where nearly 500 voting delegates from all 67 counties selected officers and directors. Officers serve two-year terms, and directors serve three-year terms. Officers and district directors also serve on the Alfa Insurance Co. board of directors. 

Dunn’s election is statewide and marks his 12th term as secretary-treasurer. He also serves as Conecuh County Farmers Federation president and is a former State Young Farmers Committee chairman.

Hegeman will serve his second term as Central Area vice president. He manages greenhouses in Calhoun and Cherokee counties and is a former State Young Farmers Committee chairman. He was American Farm Bureau Federation Young Farmers & Ranchers chairman in 2015. The Central Area includes Autauga, Bibb, Calhoun, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Fayette, Greene, Jefferson, Lamar, Pickens, Randolph, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Tuscaloosa and Walker counties.

This is Harper’s 10th term as Southwest Area vice president. A cattle and timber farmer, Harper also serves as Wilcox County Farmers Federation president and was a district director from 1988-1996. The Southwest Area includes Baldwin, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Escambia, Hale, Lowndes, Marengo, Mobile, Monroe, Montgomery, Perry, Sumter, Washington and Wilcox counties.

Federation board members representing Districts 1, 4, 7 and 10 were chosen for three-year terms.

Walker County poultry, cattle and row crop farmer Dorman Grace was elected District 1 director. The area includes Colbert, Franklin, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Marion and Walker counties. He replaces former District 1 director Brian Glenn of Lawrence County who served nine years. Grace also serves as Walker County Farmers Federation president.

Cullman County poultry and row crop farmer Steve Lake was elected director of District 4, which includes Blount, Cullman, Marshall and Winston counties. He replaces former District 4 director Tim Whitley of Blount County. Lake also is a Cullman County Farmers Federation board member.

Elmore County produce farmer Joe Lambrecht was reelected to his third term as District 7 director, which includes Chambers, Coosa, Elmore, Lee, Macon, Russell and Tallapoosa counties. Lambrecht is an Elmore County Farmers Federation board member.

Barbour County poultry and cattle farmer Trip Horne was elected District 10. The area includes Barbour, Bullock, Coffee, Covington, Crenshaw and Pike counties. He replaces Steve Stroud of Pike County who served six years and did not seek reelection. Horne also serves as Barbour County Farmers Federation president.

Elected to one-year, ex-officio terms on the state board were State Women’s Leadership Committee Chairman Lydia Haynes of Cullman County and State Young Farmers Committee Chairman Mitchell Henry of Lawrence County. 

View Related Articles