News Leaders Elected To Serve State’s Largest Farm Organization

Leaders Elected To Serve State’s Largest Farm Organization

Leaders Elected To Serve State’s Largest Farm Organization
December 28, 2015 |

Steve Dunn, a Conecuh County row crop and cattle farmer, was re-elected secretary-treasurer of the Alabama Farmers Federation at the organization’s 94th annual meeting in Montgomery Dec. 7.

Elections were held during the Federation’s business session where almost 500 farmer delegates from all 67 counties chose officers and directors for the organization. Officers serve two-year terms.

Dunn, who is Conecuh County Farmers Federation president and former state Young Farmers chairman, was re-elected to his ninth term.

Central Area Vice President Dean Wysner of Randolph County and Southwest Area Vice President Jake Harper of Wilcox County also were re-elected.

Wysner is a cattle and hay producer. The Central Area includes Autauga, Bibb, Calhoun, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Fayette, Greene, Jefferson, Lamar, Pickens, Randolph, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Tuscaloosa and Walker counties. He was first elected vice president in December 1999.

Harper, who is Wilcox County Farmers Federation president, is a cattle and timber farmer. The Southwest Area includes Baldwin, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Escambia, Hale, Lowndes, Marengo, Mobile, Monroe, Montgomery, Perry, Sumter, Washington and Wilcox counties. Harper, who served as a district director from 1988-1996, was first elected Southwest Area vice president in December 2003.

Elections also were held for Federation board of director seats representing Districts 1, 4, 7 and 10. Directors serve three years and are limited to three consecutive terms.

Brian Glenn, a row crop farmer from Lawrence County, was re-elected as District 1 director. The district includes Colbert, Franklin, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Marion and Walker counties. This is his second term.

Rickey Cornutt, a row crop and cattle farmer from Marshall County, was elected to the District 4 seat previously held by Don Allison of Winston County. The District 4 director seat rotates among Blount, Cullman, Marshall and Winston counties.

Meanwhile, Elmore County produce farmer Joe Lambrecht was elected to the District 7 seat representing Chambers, Coosa, Elmore, Lee, Macon, Russell and Tallapoosa counties. He replaces Elmore County’s Richard Edgar, who served three terms.

Pike County poultry farmer and county Federation President Steve Stroud was elected to the District 10 board seat. Stroud replaces Coffee County’s Carl Sanders, who served six years and did not seek re-election. That district includes Barbour, Bullock, Coffee, Covington, Crenshaw and Pike counties.

Elected to one-year ex-officio terms on the state board were Women’s Leadership Committee Chairman Regina Carnes of Marshall County and State Young Farmers Committee Chairman Lance Miller of Blount County. Garrett Henry of Montgomery County served as Young Farmers chairman in 2015, and Cheryl Lassiter of Choctaw County was Women’s Leadership chair.

View Related Articles