News Leaders Elected To State Women’s, Young Farmers Committees

Leaders Elected To State Women’s, Young Farmers Committees

Leaders Elected To State Women’s, Young Farmers Committees
January 24, 2023 |

By Maggie Edwards

Ann Whatley of Lee County and Jonathan Edgar of Elmore County were elected to lead the Alabama Farmers Federation State Women’s Leadership Committee (WLC) and State Young Farmers Committee, respectively, during theorganization’s 101st annual meeting in Montgomery Dec. 4-5.

As committee chairs, they will serve one-year, ex-officio terms on the Federation’s state board. (See pages 16 and 19.)

On the WLC, Debbie Dunn of Geneva County was elected vice chairman, while Rachel Chastain of Talladega County was elected secretary.

Carla Trantham of Calhoun County was elected to serve Region 2. Region 2 includes Autauga, Bibb, Calhoun, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Fayette, Greene, Jefferson, Lamar, Pickens, Randolph, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Tuscaloosa and Walker counties.

Elected to serve Region 3 was Dixie Black from Butler County. Region 3 includes Baldwin, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Escambia, Hale, Lowndes, Marengo, Monroe, Montgomery, Perry, Sumter, Washington and Wilcox counties.

Monica Carroll of Dale County was elected to serve Region 4, which covers Barbour, Bullock, Chambers, Coffee, Coosa, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Elmore, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Lee, Macon, Pike, Russell and Tallapoosa counties.

During the annual meeting, the Women’s Leadership Division honored outstanding counties. They were Winston County, Region 1; St. Clair County, Region 2; Montgomery County, Region 3; and Dale County, Region 4.

Awards of Excellence were presented to these 49 counties: Autauga, Barbour, Blount, Bullock, Butler, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Chilton, Choctaw, Clarke, Clay, Coffee, Coosa, Crenshaw, Cullman, Dale, DeKalb, Elmore, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Geneva, Houston, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lee, Limestone, Lowndes, Macon, Marion, Marshall, Mobile, Monroe, Montgomery, Pickens, Pike, Randolph, Russell, Shelby, St. Clair, Sumter, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Wilcox and Winston. 

Young Farmers, ages 18-35, also rounded out leadership during their annual business meeting. 

In addition to being elected chair, Edgar was reelected to serve District 6, which includes Autauga, Bullock, Chambers, Chilton, Elmore, Lee, Macon, Montgomery and Russell counties. 

Dillon Turk from Mobile County was elected vice chair and reelected to serve District 8, which includes Baldwin, Butler, Clarke, Conecuh, Escambia, Mobile, Monroe and Washington counties. 

District 3’s Ben Johnson of Randolph County was elected secretary.

Landon Marks of Cherokee County was elected to serve as the North At-Large representative. This includes Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Colbert, Coosa, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Hale, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Morgan, Pickens, Randolph, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Walker and Winston counties. 

Natalie Lee of DeKalb County was chosen to serve District 2, which includes Blount, Cherokee, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Jackson, Marshall and St. Clair counties.

Elected to represent District 4 was Cal Logan from Greene County. This area covers Bibb, Greene, Fayette, Hale, Jefferson, Lamar, Pickens, Tuscaloosa and Walker counties. 

As Alabama’s Outstanding Young Farm Family (OYFF), Daniel and Carla Trantham serve an ex-officio role on the committee.

Eighteen counties were recognized for outstanding work and active participation. They were Blount, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Choctaw, Cullman, Elmore, Lawrence, Lee, Limestone, Marshall, Mobile, Montgomery, Morgan, St. Clair, Talladega, Tallapoosa and Winston counties. 

View Related Articles