News Leaders Elected To State Women’s, Young Farmers Committees

Leaders Elected To State Women’s, Young Farmers Committees

Leaders Elected To State Women’s, Young Farmers Committees
December 5, 2022 |

By Maggie Edwards 

Ann Whatley of Lee County and Jonathan Edgar of Elmore County were elected to lead the Alabama Farmers Federation State Women’s Leadership Committee (WLC) and State Young Farmers Committee during the organization’s 101st annual meeting in Montgomery Dec. 4-5. 

As committee chairs, they will serve one-year ex-officio terms on the Federation’s state board. 

On the WLC, Debbie Dunn of Geneva County was elected vice chairman, while Rachel Chastain of Talladega County was elected secretary. 

Carla Trantham of Calhoun County was elected to serve Region 2. She replaces long-time committee member Delle Bean, also from Calhoun County. Region 2 includes Autauga, Bibb, Calhoun, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Fayette, Greene, Jefferson, Lamar, Pickens, Randolph, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Tuscaloosa and Walker counties.

Elected to serve Region 3 was Dixie Black from Butler County. Region 3 includes Baldwin, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Escambia, Hale, Lowndes, Marengo, Monroe, Montgomery, Perry, Sumter, Washington and Wilcox counties. Black replaces long-time state committee member Kathy Gordon of Montgomery County.

Monica Carroll of Dale County was elected to serve Region 4, which covers Barbour, Bullock, Chambers, Coffee, Coosa, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Elmore, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Lee, Macon, Pike, Russell and Tallapoosa counties. She replaces long-time committee member JoAnn B. Laney of Russell County.

During the annual meeting, the Women’s Leadership Division honored outstanding counties. They are Winston County, Region 1; St. Clair County, Region 2; Montgomery County, Region 3; and Dale County, Region 4.

Forty-nine counties also received Awards of Excellence. They are Autauga, Barbour. Blount, Bullock, Butler, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Chilton, Choctaw, Clarke, Clay, Coffee, Coosa, Crenshaw, Cullman, Dale, DeKalb, Elmore, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Geneva, Houston, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lee, Limestone, Lowndes, Macon, Marion, Marshall, Mobile, Monroe, Montgomery, Pickens, Pike, Randolph, Russell, Shelby, St. Clair, Sumter, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Wilcox and Winston counties. 

Additionally, Young Farmers, ages 18-35, rounded out leadership during their annual business meeting. 

In addition to being elected chair, Edgar was reelected to serve District 6, which includes Autauga, Bullock, Chambers, Chilton, Elmore, Lee, Macon, Montgomery and Russell counties. 

Dillion Turk from Mobile County was elected vice chair and reelected to serve District 8, which includes Baldwin, Butler, Clarke, Conecuh, Escambia, Mobile, Monroe and Washington counties. 

District 3’s Ben Johnson of Randolph County was elected secretary.

Landon Marks of Cherokee County was elected to serve as the North At-Large representative. This includes Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Colbert, Coosa, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Hale, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Morgan, Pickens, Randolph, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Walker and Winston counties. 

Natalie Lee of DeKalb was elected to serve District 2, which includes Blount, Cherokee, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Jackson, Marshall and St. Clair counties.

Elected to represent District 4 was Cal Logan from Greene County. This area covers Bibb, Greene, Fayette, Hale, Jefferson, Lamar, Pickens, Tuscaloosa and Walker counties. 

Eighteen counties were recognized for outstanding work and active participation. These included Calhoun, Winston, Cullman, Marshall, Tallapoosa, Blount, Cherokee, Choctaw, Lawrence, Limestone, Morgan, Talladega, Montgomery, Chambers, Elmore, Lee, Mobile and St. Clair counties.

View Related Articles