News New State Committee Members Elected At Annual Meeting

New State Committee Members Elected At Annual Meeting

New State Committee Members Elected At Annual Meeting
December 30, 2016 |

Leaders for Alabama Farmers Federation’s State Young Farmers and State Women’s Leadership committees were elected during the organization’s 95th annual meeting in Montgomery Dec. 4-5.

Limestone County’s Jerry Allen Newby will serve as Young Farmers chairman, and Nell Miller of Blount County was elected Women’s Leadership Committee chairman. Both serve one-year terms as ex-officio Federation State Board members.

The 2017 State Women’s Leadership Committee is, front row from left, Nell Miller of Blount County, chairman; Cheryl Lassiter of Choctaw County, vice chair; Debbie Roberts of Fayette County, secretary; and Women’s Leadership Division Director Kim Ramsey. Back row from left are Mary Helen Benford of Chambers County; Jo Ann Laney of Russell County; Debra Bowen of Randolph County; Delle Bean of Calhoun County; and Kathy Gordon of Montgomery County. Not pictured is Regina Carnes of Marshall County.

Young Farmers State Committee members elected were Cullman County’s Lee Haynes, Walker County’s Russell Miller, Autauga County’s Taber Ellis, Escambia County’s Spencer Williamson and Limestone County’s Ben Maples.

Outstanding Young Farmer county committees were honored during the meeting. They were Pike County for Division 1, Limestone County for Division 2 and Calhoun County for Division 3.

Representatives elected to the State Women’s Leadership Committee were Calhoun County’s Delle Bean, Russell County’s Jo Ann Laney and Montgomery County’s Kathy Gordon.

The Lawrence County Women’s Leadership Committee received an award for the Most Improved Committee. Outstanding county committees also were recognized. They were Clay County for Division 1, Houston County for Division 2 and Tuscaloosa County for Division 3.

In the spirit of giving back to others, the Women’s Leadership Division collected 2,419.33 pounds of pop tabs to benefit Ronald McDonald House charities in Alabama. The Elmore County Women’s Leadership Committee was recognized for collecting the most pop tabs, hauling in 473.69 pounds.

During the meeting, live and silent auctions benefited the Alabama Farmers Agriculture Foundation. The auctions raised $17,415.

View Related Articles