News Parnell Named To Agricultural Trade Advisory Committee

Parnell Named To Agricultural Trade Advisory Committee

Parnell Named To Agricultural Trade Advisory Committee
September 3, 2020 |

Alabama Farmers Federation President Jimmy Parnell was appointed to a national agricultural trade advisory committee July 17. The president of Alabama’s largest farm organization is one of 25 new members to serve on seven committees, announced U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue and U.S. Trade Representative Robert Lighthizer.

Parnell is a fifth-generation beef cattle farmer and logger from Chilton County. He will serve on the Agricultural Technical Advisory Committee for Trade in Animals and Products and provide technical advice and guidance to the Agricultural Policy Advisory Committee (APAC). 

APAC advises the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative on trade policy matters including the operation of existing trade agreements and the negotiation of new agreements.

“It is an honor to represent the real-world impact of international trade on farm families and our rural communities,” said Parnell, also CEO of Alfa Insurance. “It is imperative U.S. trade policy be responsive to the needs of American agricultural producers. I believe my roles at the state and national levels position me to serve as a voice for those farmers.”

In Alabama, agricultural exports total more than $1.3 billion annually. Parnell said foreign trade is critical to the health and financial sustainability of the state’s livestock, poultry, cotton, feed grain, peanut and soybean commodities.

The newly appointed advisors will serve until 2024. Each committee will be supplemented by additional appointments over the next four years.

Learn more at

The new committee members are:

Agricultural Policy Advisory Committee
Constance Cullman, American Feed Industry Association
David Puglia, Western Growers
David Salmonsen, American Farm Bureau Federation

ATAC for Trade in Animals and Animal Products
Robert DeHaan, National Fisheries Institute
Mallory Gaines, American Feed Industry Association
David Herring, Hog Slat Inc./TDM Farms
Jimmy Parnell, Alabama Farmers Federation
Maria Zieba, National Pork Producers Council

ATAC for Trade in Fruits and Vegetables
William Callis, U.S. Apple Export Council
Casey Creamer, California Citrus Mutual
Jodi Devaurs, California Table Grape Commission                    
Jonathan Maberry, Washington Red Raspberry Commission
Caroline Stringer, California Fresh Fruit Association

ATAC for Trade in Grains, Feed, Oilseeds and Planting Seeds
Peter Bachmann, USA Rice Federation
William Gordon, American Soybean Association
Derek Haigwood, D.I.D. Farms
Patrick Hayden, North American Export Grain Association
Dalton Henry, U.S. Wheat Associates
Edward Hubbard, Renewable Fuels Association
Tina Lyons, Double River Forwarding, LLC

ATAC for Trade in Processed Foods
Kevin Latner, National Industrial Hemp Council
Richard (Denton) McLane, McLane Global Trading
Max Moncaster, National Association of State Departments of Agriculture
Bernadette Wiltz, Southern United States Trade Association

ATAC for Trade in Sweeteners and Sweetener Products
(No new members.)

ATAC for Trade in Tobacco, Cotton and Peanuts
Karl Zimmer, Premium Peanut

View Related Articles