News State’s Largest Farm Organization Elects Officers, Directors

State’s Largest Farm Organization Elects Officers, Directors

State’s Largest Farm Organization Elects Officers, Directors
January 1, 2017 |

By Marlee Moore

Jimmy Parnell of Stanton in Chilton County was re-elected to a third two-year term as president of Alabama’s largest farm organization during the Alabama Farmers Federation’s 95th annual meeting in Montgomery Dec. 5. Nearly 500 delegates from all 67 counties voted in the business session.

Parnell, a fifth-generation farmer in the cattle and timber business, thanked Federation delegates for allowing him to serve the organization’s 360,000 members and promote the interests of the state’s top industry.

“I get up every morning excited to go to work,” said Parnell, 52. “I look forward to what the Alabama Farmers Federation is and will become. I promise you hard work, honesty and an open-door policy.”

Parnell was chairman of the Federation’s State Young Farmers Committee in 1997, served on the Federation’s State Board of Directors from 1999-2008 and was Chilton County Farmers Federation president from 2006-2012.

He was unopposed in his bid for re-election.

North Area Vice President Rex Vaughn of Huntsville in Madison County and Southeast Area Vice President George Jeffcoat of Gordon in Houston County were also re-elected for two-year terms.

Vaughn is a row crop and beef cattle farmer. The North Area covers Blount, Cherokee, Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Franklin, Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Morgan and Winston counties.

Jeffcoat is a row crop and cattle farmer. The Southeast Area includes Barbour, Bullock, Chambers, Coffee, Coosa, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Elmore, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Lee, Macon, Pike, Russell and Tallapoosa counties.

Additionally, four district directors were elected to three-year terms.

Donald Hodge, a row crop farmer from Madison County, was elected to represent District 2, which covers Limestone, Madison and Morgan counties. Hodge succeeds Paul Looney of Limestone County.

Joe Anders of Tuscaloosa County, a row crop farmer, will represent District 5, which includes Bibb, Fayette, Jefferson, Lamar and Tuscaloosa counties. Anders succeeds Joe Roberts of Fayette County. 

Meador Jones of Marengo County was elected District 8 director. He is a cattle farmer representing Choctaw, Dallas, Greene, Hale, Marengo, Perry, Pickens and Sumter counties. Jones succeeds Perry County’s Dan Robertson.

Sammy Gibbs, a row crop farmer from Escambia County, was elected to a second term as District 11 director. He represents Baldwin, Clarke, Conecuh, Escambia, Monroe, Mobile and Washington counties.

Elected to one-year, ex-officio terms on the Federation State Board were Women’s Leadership Committee Chairman Nell Miller of Blount County and State Young Farmers Chairman Jerry Allen Newby of Limestone County.

View Related Articles